My mid 20’s crisis

Warning: this post is honest

Tonight I was at crosspoint and Pete shared this message entitled “empty promises.”  There was this one train of thought that rocked my world. He discussed the idea that a lot of 22 and 23 year olds are feeling the pressure, depression, anxiety and frustrations that come along with a “mid-life” crisis. Yet they (I) am so young and there is no reason to be experiencing these pressures at our age. Pete said that the reason is because “our society has become so performance driven.”

I finally feel that I can put into words the thing that has been bothering me; I have made success and credit my idols. I have this huge desire to succeed and be known. As Pete pointed out; some idols are not necessarily bad things, “but left unchecked can become trouble in our life.” I always feel like I have to succeed and that time is ticking away, that life is passing me by. Some of it I get from seeing these young actors, singers, etc… on tv just soaring to these lavish titles and positions.

I want to be successful and I would like to be famous or well known, but are these desires of the flesh? I feel like my desire to succeed when put in the right context and for the purpose of the kingdom is a good thing, but to desire to be famous…not so much. Erwin McManus once asked, “do you want to be famous or do you want to be great?” What’s the line?  I see all these famous faces on tv and I want to roll with them and live like they do. This is my confession, I think I have lost track of what life is really about. I don’t know, I hope that by working through this with God through prayer I can discover the true meaning of GREAT.  I pray that through Pete’s series, this blog, prayer with God, prayer from friends/family, support from you all…I can discover how to get out of this crisis, how to balance success and allow God to work on my heart when it comes to fame.

5 responses to “My mid 20’s crisis

  1. First of can I just say how insanely jealous I am that you get to call Crosspoint your home church. I have been following Pete and Brandi’s blogs and sermons (on and off) for about two years now and I love them!

    Second, I really enjoyed reading this post because I feel like I fall into this category. Especially recently, where I feel like I just don’t live up to what society wants me to be. This was a great reminder that I need not focus on society but on what God’s plan for my life is.

    Thanks for share 🙂 Hope to see you soon…otherwise it’s only like a month until the wedding!

    • I know I feel so blessed being able to go to crosspoint, it is an amazing church. I’m glad you were blessed, I’ll continue to post pieces from the series, but you def. should check out the podcast it was so amazing you have to hear it in its totality. And I know exactly how you feel about society causing us to feel unworthy. Thank you for reading and posting a comment!

      can’t wait to see you!!!!

  2. Your measure of greatness comes from who you are, not what you become. Whoever you become is only a magnification of who you truly are. Right now, your focus should be on searching within, to really know yourself. As you grow in age and maturity, this will help you to make the right decisions for your career and your future together with Ashley. Remember happiness is not measured by cars, fame, money etc. It is measured by contenment, sincerity, and being honest with yourself. At the end of the day….its only you…..do you enjoy what you do?…can you live with your choices? Have you put all that you have into the Lords hands…..and trusted that he will make you great, in his way……….what is great?….touching someones life, making someone feel really good about themselves, greatness is not always tangible….the spirit of God is great…but not tangible….the waiting and being patient is the hardest…..when the opportunity arises…you will know…that special job…that special moment of “yes” that’s what I will do………………….it is coming……watch for it…capture it ….and run with it…and the Lord will bless you and your family for waiting on Him. ..” Be still and know that I am God.”……………..

    • Thank you,
      that was an amazing word of encouragement! I have never heard greatness defined in that way (not tangible), thank you so much for your encouragement and taking the time to speak into my life. I feel like you really said exactly what I needed to hear. Thank you, I love you! Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

